Top Three Thursday :: Favorite Pets

img_2162

PREPARE YOURSELF FOR A LOT OF UNNECESSARY GUSHING…

‘Cause this topic gets me crunk.

(Scratch that. I don’t even know what “crunk” means.)

Top Three Thursday gets a little furry this week with:
My favorite bookish pets!

Now, I don’t do well picking favorites except when it comes to snack foods (Fancy Cakes will always win y’all. To quote the-one-and-only Severus Snape: “Always.”) Therefore, these are not going to be ranked in anyway shape or form, I’m just going to toss out some animals I’ve loved through the years. Leggo.

HEDWIG from the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

Harry Potter.jpgLemme be real with you for a second. I’m not a bird person, okay? Not in any way shape or form. They don’t necessarily terrify me but I don’t get excited about them either. Hedwig remains the only exception to the rule. Like all the other main characters from Harry Potter, I loved her sweet Snowy Owl ass right from the beginning. *How she was a gift from Hagrid (on our first visit to Diagon Alley), *how she became Harry’s closest companion (remember when she was the only one he could talk to?), *how loyal she was even till her death…What was there not to love about Hedwig?

FENNEL from The Paper Magician Trilogy by Charlie N. Holmberg

Imagine a world where magicians have a particular affinity for one type of special material. After Ceony Twill graduates TOP OF HER CLASS, she is sure she’ll have an affinity for metal work. Badass right? (Blood/flesh is also another choice but we don’t speak of “those people.”) Instead, Ceony gets placed as a Folder = paper magic. And she believes it to be the most useless, lame magic which exists. She is thrust into the very capable, very eccentric hands of Magician Emery Thane (swoon) and soon learns there is a whole world to Folding that she could’ve never believed to be real. Thane’s best creation, in my opinion however, was Fennel. Ceony is forced to leave her real dog behind when her schooling/apprenticeship begins. So, what does Thane do to make her more comfortable is his home? He creates a paper dog. Bespelling paper into a breathing, mobile, active little canine who becomes Ceony’s right hand dude. Complete with a personality all his own and creative additions as the series goes along, Fennel is the product of two very different people with the same very big heart.The Paper Magician

FLEETFOOT from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass.jpgDon’t even tell me there isn’t a whole fandom out there for Fleetfoot. I mean, really. If you read the series, how hard did you fall in love with that silky haired, golden mutt? Fleetfoot was a connecting piece back in the early days, a pivotal key in the budding friendship of Dorian and Celaena (still weird calling her that), she was Celaena’s safe zone – the only creature she truly trusted (and vice versa), and THE ONLY CHARACTER MAAS SWEARS NOT TO KILL OFF. I think my favorite part of Fleetfoot’s personality (thus far) is how much she loves Evangeline. She’s protective and sharp as a tack. And, by God, if anything ever happens to her, Maas fans will riot.


So, there’s my Top Three Thursday…

BUT I CAN’T STOP THERE!

Here’s a few bonus pets:

CHAINSAW from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys.jpgLike, really, was there anything sweeter than when Ronan the Hardass fell in love with his dream created raven? I’m a big fan of his soft side when it comes to the black-feathered-mascot always perched atop his shoulder. She’s fiercely intelligent and protective of “her boys.” Swoon.

CHURCH from The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare

Church, the immortal cat, connecting Shadowhunters through the generations. I loved his grumpy butt. I mean, it could be the fact he’s Jem’s cat to begin with that really gets me. I always was weak for Jem Carstairs. He passed through the eccentric hands of Magnus Bane, “traveled across the world” – ending up calling three Institutions home. He knows where to find someone when you’re seeking them, albeit not a happy Tour Guide Kitty. I think I grew just as attached to Church as I did the other Shadowhunter characters. Clockwork Angel.jpg


I think if we are all susceptible to anything in a fandom (besides book boyfriends)…it’s a furry, fluffy, birded, scaled creature of some kind. We fall in love with the people they protect as much as we fall in love with the protector themselves. They bring comedic relief, emotional release, and those “warm-cuddly” feelings we all have for our own animals. Thanks for stopping by for this week’s Top Three Thursday!

Love,
Brianna & Hagan

17426181_1598412013503093_1741405627333854476_n.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

