Top Three Thursday :: Books I Can Read Over and Over Again

img_2162

Okay, so I know it’s Saturday but (here’s the good news) I HAVE A NEW LAPTOP! My sweet momma surprised me the other night with it and I am ridin’ that high on cloud nine. How cool is she? I had the same HP for almost 10 years and adored it; I stuck with it through missing keys and a cracked screen until it finally just wouldn’t function anymore. Insert sad face. The last few months I’ve been posting on my phone or at the library – so, it’s nice to be able to sit at my own desk, with a cup of coffee, and type up a new blog post. Therefore: this one is for you Audrey. The mother of all mothers momma of all mommas. (She hates being called “mother”.)

I thought it would be fun this week to dig up some of my favorite re-reads. Narrowing this list down to three, though? A lot harder than I expected. Nevertheless, here goes:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

Oh yeah, like you didn’t see that one coming! HP is by far one of my favorite series to re-read, mainly because I find something new to fall in love with every time. There’s just something about the first installment which makes me feel like a kid again. It was my first true “series-love” you know? It was the first time I felt what it was like to need the next book to exist. To cry. To stay up too late to finish. To laugh out loud. HP will forever remain on my bookshelf. I don’t care how old I am.

“I hope you’re pleased with yourselves. We could all have been killed – or worse, expelled. Now if you don’t mind, I’m going to bed.”
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

The Return of the King by J. R. R. Tolkien

Another staple, in my humble opinion. To be fair – I didn’t really get into Lord of the Rings until the movies existed. I was THAT girl. Once I got my hands on the books though? Game on. Tolkien, man, what a piece of work. World-building genius. My favorite of the three (plus The Hobbit) has to go to the final installment solely for the fact it was so…well, climatic. When I first started reading the series, I remember thinking: “Breathe. It’s heavy but it’s going to be worth it.” (And by “heavy” I mean depth.) Much like HP being my first “series love”, LoTR was my first true “epic love.” I had no idea so many different storylines could coalesce in such a natural way. What a ride.

“Well, here at last, dear friends, on the shores of the Sea comes the end of our fellowship in Middle-earth. Go in peace! I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Return of the King

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

So, I read GwtW while I was in junior high the first time. My point being = my worldview was a little different from age seventeen when I re-read it the next time and again at twenty-one. Call me cheesy, say I have a love affair with trash but dear Lord – I love me some Gone with the Wind. I was weak to Rhett Butler when I was fourteen and I’ll be damned if I’m still not weak for him at twenty-six. (Come find me in forty more years. Bet my geriatric ass will still be weak for Rhett Butttllla.) Yes, it’s filled with stereotypes. Yes, Scarlett is whiney, melodramatic, and sometimes nauseating. Yes, it’s lonnnnng. But the array of emotions I feel every time I read through it is so…deliciously salacious. I never knew you could simultaneously love and hate a main character so much. All in all, I’d own it forever just to feel Scarlett’s love for Tara if not Rhett Butler.

“Well, my dear, take heart. Some day, I will kiss you and you will like it. But not now, so I beg you not to be too impatient.”
Margaret Mitchell, Gone with the Wind

And HONORABLE MENTION goes to…

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Gone with the Wind might’ve been my first “historical romance” but my favorite of all history is Outlander. That’s a fact, ladies and gents. It blew my socks off. James Fraser will go down in history as the greatest fictional love I think I ever did have. (He’s at the top of the list but tied with several other book boyfriends. Like I could ever choose just one. Ha!) Gabaldon created not only characters/secondary-characters I fell completely in love with but also a world. A time period. Locations. This woman can tackle: romance, war, historical clothing, animals, witchcraft, sex, mythical lore, and time-travel all at once and make it seem effortless. The entire series is addictive and a roller-coaster that’ll leave you wanting more and more – but the first installment, where we meet Claire and Jamie, is the bomb.

“Where did you learn to kiss like that?” I said, a little breathless. He grinned and pulled me close again.

“I said I was a virgin, not a monk,” he said, kissing me again. “If I find I need guidance, I’ll ask.”
Diana Gabaldon, Outlander


What about you? What are you favorite re-reads? What books can you pick up and read over and over again? Any staples that’ll never leave your bookshelf even as you age?

Love,
Brianna

Leave a Reply

