Journal Jots {Sept. 2016}

2FREEBIECoffeeStyledDeskImageSquare

Favorite book I read: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro –> So, descendants of both Sherlock and Watson come together in this YA morsel at a school of sorts and BOOM! All kinds of weird things (by weird things I mean murders) start happening. The Sherlock character is female – LOVED her. Abrasive and arrogant, brilliant and easy to fall head over heels for: successfully Sherlockian. Watson? He’s just as big of an idealistic, teddy bear as the original Watson we all adore. They’re a great combo. It’ll be staying on my shelves, not doomed to abandonment in the Bullshit Box. (Sidenote: the Bullshit Box is getting quite full as of late. Either I’m too hard to please or I’ve had terrible taste in choosing books recently.) A few other favorites for September include Stacey Jay’s Annabelle Lee series. Think Louisiana bayou, fairy mutations turned deadly, and a scrumptious love triangle…egh, rectangle. I enjoyed both of them: Dead on the Delta and Blood on the Bayou. They’re not YA – and there’s sex (gasp). A lot of motha effas and gritty, nasty details. So, if that don’t float your boat, probably not a good recommendation. I try to trade off/rotate when I read: one YA, one classic, one “grown up book”, and one poetry. September was an interesting group of choices including (3) which were total bombs. I’m sad I wasted my time on The Taker by Alma Katsu, Seven Tears into the Sea by Terri Farley, and Touched by Elisa S. Amore. (I was asking for it with that last one. That’s $.99 I’ll never get back.) Sorry if you’re reading this and actually enjoyed any of those books but I would much rather eat blue cheese on my salad than have to go through those torturous literary devices ever again. 23272028.jpg

SEPTEMBER WAS THE MONTH OF PEAKY BLINDERS! Like, holy hell, why did no one tell me that show existed? My love for Cillian Murphy is through the roof. What a talented, beautiful man. I flew through the first season on Netflix and haven’t taken a break since. I watch it as often as I can. (I’m only two episodes away from being done- no spoilers.) The accents, the setting, the ins and outs of a well weaved storyline, a new fictional boyfriend: golden. All of it.

A few quotes I jotted down:

Sept. 18, 2016 :: “She was beautifully out of place. Sometimes I believe she intended to be, like the moon during the day.” D.R.

Sept. 22, 2016 :: “There are a few things in life so beautiful they hurt: swimming in the ocean while it rains, reading alone in empty libraries, the sea of stars that appear when you’re miles away from the neon lights of the city, bars after 2 am, walking in the wilderness, all the phases of the moon, the things we do not know about the universe, and you.” Beau Taplin

Sept. 23, 2016 :: “Writing about him was the only thing that kept me sane. I turned him into metaphors and called him everything from a drug to a hurricane. Now that I am healed, I can see that my writing made him look so exotic and special but he wasn’t. He was just a boy, a boy who I thought was way more. That was my biggest mistake.” (excerpt from a book I will never write #816 – found on Pinterest)

Sept. 26, 2016 :: SPEND YOUR LIFE DOING STRANGE THINGS WITH WEIRD PEOPLE.

Special moments I collected in September: helped Dad spray paint/camo back at the duck blind, taught Tucker how to use my old typewriter – seriously, his 9 year old bubbling excitement made my heart skip a beat, the front door sucked open during a storm and Hagan got out without me realizing it (gave me a heart attack – I wanted to beat his furry butt but was too busy kissing on him when he came back), printed new pictures for the living room (finally), watched Courage the Cowardly Dog with Kai (her choice, not mine. Sigh. The four year old wins again. I wanted to watch Beauty and the Beast), and had four freakin’ awesome Sunday suppers with my clan.

–> Sounds pretty boring but all-in-all my family rocks. Really. They’re a cool bunch of dorky, snarky, smart ass human beings. <–

September seemed to be a month of self-analysis & bouncing back from mistakes. I’m learning to find a balance between being 100% myself and handling it with respect. I got drunk too much. I ate too many slices of cheesecake (Salted Caramel @ Bradshaw’s) and not enough salads. I told a dude I was crazy about him then subsequently told him to “f*&! off” in the same conversation, within a time span of two minutes. (Hey, I’m unstable.) Yet, I also met new people and made honest connections with them because I wasn’t afraid to talk about “weird stuff.” I went out and I had fun – not just once but SEVERAL times. As a self-diagnosed introvert, that’s a big deal and something I’m trying to build on every single day. I don’t want to live in a cage, you know? – not one someone sticks me in and definitely not one I willingly place myself in.

I am a fall girl. Autumn is my favorite. Not in a basic-white-girl way (okay, maybe a little minus the Ugg boots) but it’s always been my happy season. I love change. I love metamorphosis, growth, a Phoenix rising from the ashes — and that’s what fall is all about. Watching the leaves change, feeling the air start to chill, Harvest, and hunting seasons – September and October will always be my happy places.

(I’m a grumpy SOB come November. Watch out.)

Hope everyone is happy and healthy in your home! Hagan and I will be taking advantage of Columbus Day tomorrow (I love me some banker’s hours) and painting some old windows/crafting. Come say hi if you’re around!

Love,
Bri & Hagey

14601096_1376270702383893_3575209563232392745_n.jpg

Leave a Reply

