Sexual Musings :: Tomorrow

IMG_9622

My heart beats at one speed: fiercely.
I have never known how to love
without diving so deeply
below the surface

I get lost in someone –
swallowed whole by
fascination
and curiosity
and questions
and sparks
and fondness
and attraction.
How dare you belittle the person
I have grown to be
and have shared with you
all these years
by assuming I won’t continue
to love others the way I loved you
just because you have exited my life.
My heart beats at one speed: fiercely.
And it never beat solely for you –
it beat for myself:
my joy,

my affection,
my adoration,
my thrill.
It will beat on even in the shadow
of your absence.
It will beat gently,
It will beat tenderly.
It will beat completely.

 

Copyright © 2016 Pearl Bayou

Leave a Reply

