Lately…

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.”
― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

Hi guys-

Happy Monday! Been away for a couple of days so I thought I’d sit down and write a few notes as of late.

We knocked out another annual Harmon-Minks Family Reunion complete with zipline, dunking booth, cantaloupe cannon, and confetti at the beginning of July. Roughly one hundred and twenty-five people came and went, ate, visited, and there were plenty of laughs in between. The weather was just about perfect – nice and sunny for the kiddos in the pool or on the water slide and comfortable in the shade for those of us who just wanted to sit around and talk. So thankful for a healthy, intelligent, and beautiful group of people surrounding me.

IMG_9542.JPG

Uhm, so. So God Made a Farmer’s Wife made it into the paper here in town – I was so excited, y’all. Thankful AGAIN for all the shares and all the kind words.

Current projects:

  1. Working on a scary piece and HOLY SMOKES! I have a whole new respect for horror, crime, and suspense writers. It’s been my biggest challenge so far. It’s an intricate process trying not to give away too many details but giving just enough to move the paragraphs along. Hoping once I’m finished you all enjoy it as much as I’ve loved learning new aspects of the horror genre.
  2. Culling books. Hardest. Thing. Ever. I mean, I’m seriously struggling even though I know I need to free up shelf space (and floor space)(and counter space)(and closet space). Today will be Week Two of the MIGHTY BOOK PURGE OF 2016 and I’m still having a hard time letting some of them go. Let’s be real – I won’t reread 3/4 of them so why is it so difficult to box them up and set them free?
  3. I can officially call myself a grandmother. Baby succulents by the dozen and I’m loving it!
  4. A classic book challenge of sorts. I told myself there isn’t a single reason why I shouldn’t read more of the classics and I need to quit being such a little baby about them. However, if I’m going to read them, I’m going to do it right. I want to understand the dull things if I’m going to force myself through them. (There is a tiny bit of sarcasm there. I know they’re not all dull.) I couldn’t choose where to start so I randomly picked from a list I found on Pinterest and first up: A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs.
  5. My journaling has become a little bit of an addiction. (An addiction I’m quite okay with though!) I have bought probably a dozen notebooks/journals the past few months but I decided to go the DIY route this go ’round and buy some blank covers and try to design my own. Wish me luck 🙂 Anybody have any recommendations on paint pens? 

Latest obsessions:

a. I just finished Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Probably one of my FAVORITES for the year so far! I read her Grisha Trilogy as fast as I could get my hands on it a few years ago and I was super excited to enjoy Six of Crows just as much, if not more. She creates such lush worlds and rich characters you fall in love with slowly and deeply. She writes with a dark edge that’s ridiculously easy to devour. Loved it!

b. I also finished Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto this weekend — think Louis L’Amour mixed with a dash of HBO True Blood and Gone with the Wind. It had steampunk elements and also some racism components. It had a few minor issues that I still haven’t really settled in my brain (so many questions) but it was DIFFERENT from anything else I’ve been reading out there in YA right now. Plus it’s a standalone, y’all. A STANDALONE IN YA FICTION- yes, it’s possible.

c. Nesting doll tattoos. Yes, yes, and yes.

d.  “I would like to be known as an intelligent woman, a courageous woman, a loving woman, a woman who teaches by being.” – Maya Angelou

e. @jennifertaylorart on Instagram & Jennifer’s Etsy Shop. So talented. So magical.

f. These photos –> Vintage Military Couples –> I am such a stinkin’ romantic.

 

Hope everyone has a wonderful week! Thank goodness for the little cool push in the weather. Last week was a KILLER in Mid-MO.

Love,
Brianna & Hagan

IMG_9547

 

Leave a Reply

