Journal Jots {May ’16}

2FREEBIECoffeeStyledDeskImageSquare

So, in May I declared a “book-buying-ban” for myself. My TBR pile was literally taking over my living room so it was time to step away from Thriftbooks. I went a whole 31 days and didn’t purchase a single book, y’all. That is HUGE. My sweet friend had her last day at work with us and moved onto her next step. So proud of her! I learned Hagan can entertain himself for hours with a rawhide – silly me was too nervous to give him one before. Now? He can have them all day, erryday.

Here are some of my random jots from the month of May:

May 1, 2016 : “The hardest step she ever took was to blindly trust in who she was.” -Atticus

May 2, 2016 : Stepped into Bradshaw’s- it’s rainy/misty outside and kind of chilly actually. May can have that strange bite to it, like it’s reluctant to move forward out of spring and into summery mugginess. I’ve always really enjoyed java but I’ve managed to become an addict over the past few months. I’m still more of a “Want some coffee to go with your creamer?” kinda girl though.

May 8, 2016 : Celebrated Mother’s Day with everyone up at Ma’s house. I love being surrounded by such interesting people – the women in my family kick ass. Came home to the brown dog and now we’re curled up watching Outlander. A little Jamie Fraser to wish myself a Happy Fur Momma’s Day…score.

May 9, 2016 : Maybe I should be more open with myself when it comes to writing about him. He didn’t make me hate myself; I allowed that to happen all on my own.

“I fall in love everyday with new songs, dogs, scents, pieces of art, illusions, five minute conversations, a sunset in my rear view mirror, a story. A written note. A daydream. What a pleasure it is. To know gravity.” – Victoria Erickson

May 19, 2016 : Jesus, why are writing sex scenes so hard?

May 22, 2016 : Can’t. Get. My. Brain. To. Turn. Off. We all loaded up tonight and went to shoot while we were at Mom and Dad’s. I love our Sundays as a group. Emmett and Dad are good teachers. Momma means business when she steps up there – she locks that jaw the way she does when she’s being serious. Carissa and Emmett crack me up – she takes no bullshit off of him and he always gets tickled when she gets defensive. Super cute.

“The sky broke like an egg into full sunset and the water caught fire.”
Pamela Hansford Johnson

May 26, 2016 : I love little baby succulents.

Leave a Reply

