Sexual Musings :: Honestly

IMG_3017
Being broken by you wasn’t beautiful.
You didn’t love me then leave me shattered
after hours of love and adoration
like a flower plucked of petals;
you found me and smashed the shards
of who I was deeper into the ground
the way brown beer bottle glass
is crushed into gravel.
All the while, you smiled and preached
of how much love you were pouring
into my failing heart.
Your grin would light my day up in a flash of color
then you would punch a hole
through it with a noxious threat
leaving my day blackened
and my night even more shadowed.

It’s taken me years to realize
I chose to drown in you and darkness.

 Copyright © 2016 Pearl Bayou

Leave a Reply

